To support our site, Class Central may be compensated by some course providers.

Introduction to Agent-based Modeling

Santa Fe Institute via Complexity Explorer

students interested

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

This course will explore how to use agent-based modeling to understand and examine a widely diverse and disparate set of complex problems. During the course, we will explore why agent-based modeling is a powerful new way to understand complex systems, what kinds of systems are amenable to complex systems analysis, and how agent-based modeling has been used in the past to study everything from economics to biology to political science to business and management. We will also teach you how to build a model from the ground up and how to analyze and understand the results of a model using the NetLogo programming language. We will also discuss how to build models that are sound and rigorous. No programming background or knowledge is required, and the methods examined will be useable in any number of different fields.

Reviews for Complexity Explorer's Introduction to Agent-based Modeling
4.7 Based on 75 reviews

  • 5 stars 75%
  • 4 stars 19%
  • 3 stars 5%
  • 2 star 0%
  • 1 star 1%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Anonymous
4.0 2 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Great learning experience - introduces you to an easy-to-use programming environment with enough of the computer science to feel competent, a lot of add-ons and discussions to inspire, and none of the jargon to discourage.

Brilliant course for people from different disciplines who are interested in the use of code for simulations, education and modelling.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I took this course primarily because I had enjoyed precious offerings from Complexity Explorer. I had very little programming background, and my expectations for this course were mixed, given that, at first sight, NetLogo looks a little clunky with 1990's style graphics. I also had the impression that ABM was a "soft" discipline.

I couldn't have been more wrong. I quickly came to appreciate that the point of ABM is the insights it delivers about otherwise intractable problems not the quality of the graphics. Bill Rand brings this out in a well-paced, almost gentle way. However be…
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Tim T
3.0 a year ago
Tim completed this course, spending 2 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
The lecturer is an expert in agent-based modelling which is very valuable for this course. Personally I do not think I learnt a lot from it though, and that's partly because the course covers to a large fraction NetLogo and its features. A good part of this does not help you to understand Agent-based Modeling, but only NetLogo better. This might be fine to some or many students, but I think it should be made more clear in the course description.

Other than that there were a few other downsides: the course content could have a partial redesign in my opinion as some things are intro…
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
1.0 a year ago
Anonymous partially completed this course.
This course is the poorest programming course i ever attend!

1. In general, the course is all like reading out loud the textbook.

2. Short and insufficient programming lectures.

3. 70% is not about simulation in Netlogo at all.

4. Poor teaching, the instructor fails to deliver the course content, poor educative language and skills.

5. Lack of self-evaluation, exercises and proper quizzes. you will not found out that where you are, at which levels you are, how much you actually learn. The instructor introduce a project but it's p…
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 2 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Very nice course. The topics of the lessons were meaningful and complete. You don't need previous experience in modeling nor in programming for taking this course. The first weeks give you an easy-to-underst and overview of the different types of models, why agent based models are useful and where can you apply them. The later weeks go deeper and features advanced abm techniques.

The lessons are example-based and are very concerete, so you can make use of the knowledge right away. I didn't give this couse 5 stars because the platform is yet inmature (has some bugs), and the proffesors seem to have no previous experience with online courses, thus the videos could be improved (for example, there are too much filler words). This might be a little annoying but should not prevent you from taking full advantage of the course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 2 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Coming from a background of no previous experience with Agent-Based Modeling in general (and Netlogo in particular), this course is a great introduction: accessible and easy to follow, the core of this course will take you through the basic theoretical concepts to building your first model.

Obviously, being a novice, there were certain times where some subjects felt a bit overwhelming but the forum and office hours were extremely helpful and made sure that I was never too lost.

The only less positive aspects I have to mention were some of the units (particularly the one that relates to the use of R) feeling a bit rushed, and a couple of problems with the course site (particularly its peer-review system) that were eventually fixed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 2 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Completed all modules, but did not build a model. I was more interested in applications of ABM and how it works, rather than spending so much time with coding. Course was very effective--videos with split screens (computer screen plus lecturer face was a very effective learning tool). However, for those of us who what to learn more about how ABM is applied and methodology, rather than pure coding, you might consider in the future breaking ABM into two courses. One, how to build ABM models; and two with more emphasis on history, methods and going through real world applications in addition to demonstration models.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a year ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I am excited with the model which I manage to create in such a short time due to the course. I developed an information sharing supply chain, which compares individual forecasting vs group forecasting in different market types, sizes and also considers consumer loyalty (e.g. promotion strategies). The forecasting was made with extension R by using extreme learning machine algorithm.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3.0 a year ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The content was not dense enough, there were too many videos for the amount of knowledge gained. Most of what you need to learn about making an agent-based model is contained in half of unit 4, which was very instructive, but most of the rest was dispensable in my opinion. Of course it was general knowledge about ABMs, but I needn't have spent 10 weeks watching videos about it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a year ago
Anonymous completed this course.
For me this course was an important step forward in learning modeling after finding out about NetLogo in 'Model Thinking' course by Scott Page. Coming from the field of medicine and being passionate about modeling for several decades I did not expect that adding programming skills to this would be easy. But this course by Professor Rand @ Complexity explorer made me to change my attitude. Thus, the most attracting and valuable aspect of the course which guided my decision to enroll was the possibility to build a program for scratch. And it was indeed true. Of course it would be naive to consider that after this course I will become a skilled programmer, but it can serve as a very comprehensive road map to farther exploration of this field and effective leverage for creating new models. I would specially mention instructor's friendly and professional delivery. And finally, I really enjoyed the course and would recommend it to anyone with interest in ABM.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a year ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Great course and subject matter. The cost and payment system is very reasonable. I chose to pay slightly more than the minimum fee for the course, but still feel I got amazing value for money. Thank you to Complexity Explorer and its financial supporters for making this high quality course available all around the world at such a generous rate. Bill Rand is awesome and really knows his stuff (he co-wrote the definitive introductory textbook with Uri Wilensky, author of Netlogo). The course moves at a pretty comfortable pace, though complete beginners may find some later sections require closer attention/revision (so pay attention!). We got to design our own working model which was very satisfying and a great way to jump straight in to programming with Netlogo. On the whole I really enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone with an interest in ABM.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 weeks ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The course is excellent for people who want to understand ABM and have no idea. I think that to enjoy the course, it is necessary to have programming knowledge and you should like to program, but if you do not have programming knowledge, you can take the course, but you probably will not enjoy it as much. The course gives you a lot of knowledge of ABM, Netlogo and R. The way the course is organized makes it very practical. By this I mean, that you can learn while practicing by programming. If you have a project that you want to start developing or you are developing with ABM and Netlogo, this perfect course can help you clarify many doubts about it. You have to develop a project during the course and that is one of the best parts.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 2 weeks ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Great introductory course on agent-based modeling, its core principles and uses, and implementing models with varying degrees of complexity in the NetLogo language. I would suggest this course to anyone with little to moderate familiarity with the concepts of complexity and ABM, but some of the technical aspects of the course may seem limited to a person with a strong background in programming, especially in high-level languages. Even so, the conceptual component of the course would benefit those individuals. For the price (initially paid but free after the course is finished), this can't be beat.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Albert L
5.0 2 years ago
by Albert completed this course.
It is an "almost complete" review* of agent-based modeling, in terms of "history", ideas or concepts and their significance and applications. Professor Rand's style of delivery of lectures suits the way I learn, by giving examples when time plus other conditions warrant it, and references otherwise. I now feel that I have a very good "road map" to go deeper into agent-based modeling in the areas in which I am interested.

* quotation marks used to indicate that being a novice I had (and really still have) NO idea what constitutes complete coverage of the subject of agent-based modelling :-)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Simon C
5.0 2 years ago
by Simon is taking this course right now, spending 4 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
Excellent course, clearly explained. I've spent time on building models of things that interest me, in addition to the work required for the course. I'd recommend it for anyone interested in biology, social sciences, or ecology who wants to get beyond hand waving arguments and actually see whether a idea has a chance of working in practice. You are still only dealing with models, but you can at least see whether the model will hand together.

Good forums, with plenty of lively discussion. IMHO this is vital for any course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Alan M
5.0 2 weeks ago
Alan completed this course.
This is an excellent introduction to Agent Based Modeling and the NetLogo language. The class moves quickly from basic ideas to actually building models and using the basic parts of the NetLogo system. While not required, the book by the instructor is very helpful and really needed for use after the completion of the class when you have forgotten details. I recommend the class to anyone entering the field of complexity modeling, either for interest or application in a professional setting.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The Introduction to Agent Based Modeling on the Santa Fe Institute's Complexity Explorer site is a solid introduction to ABM and use of Netlogo software tool. It covers a range of topics, from introductory to advanced and prepares students for further exploration of ABM. The course includes numerous examples, and is taught in a hands-on manner that builds student knowledge and skill. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to understand the power and utility of ABM.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Paulo C
4.0 7 months ago
by Paulo partially completed this course.
I strongly recommend this course after a careful follow up of the NetLogo Tutorials, unless you are already a user of languages like Python, Java, Mathematica or other similar languages.

The details of programming are very well explained, however, it is very time-consuming for beginners to write their own codes.

The excellent checking syntax, library, dictionary and quick help of NetLogo is of great help, nevertheless, all that requires familiarity
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 weeks ago
Anonymous completed this course.
You will learn how to write a model by completing this course.

It is the first time I learned about this skill in my life.

I AM 61, I have a PhD in economics and took more than 6 years of classes, between undergraduate and graduate, most in theory. None of these mentioned how to write a model, despite this being the core goal of the PhD program.

Eventually I become an empiricist and a teacher.

I strongly recommend this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Excellent coverage of Agent-Based Modelling: the history, the future, but, above all, the practicalities of designing, developing, verifying, validating and analyzing a model. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to develop or use an Agent-Based Model, or to understand the results of another model.

The courses comes from Santa Fe Institute, and it every bit as good as one might expect from such a prestigious organization.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 years ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
It was not my first contact with NetLogo, but the fact that it talks about advanced stuff is great. Even if it doesn't go in-depth because it's an introductory course, we can explore these things by ourselves later. Bill explains everything very well with examples, and he goes through forum questions and e-mails on office hours live streams, so nothing more to ask of him.

Like Brendan Sullivan would say about Fight Club, it's a solid 5/7.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.