To support our site, Class Central may be compensated by some course providers.

Introduction to Logic

Stanford University via Coursera

students interested
  • Provider Coursera
  • Subject Philosophy
  • $ Cost Free Online Course (Audit)
  • Session Upcoming
  • Language English
  • Certificate Paid Certificate Available
  • Effort 4-10 hours a week
  • Start Date
  • Duration 10 weeks long

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

Sign up to Coursera courses for free Learn how

This course is an introduction to Logic from a computational perspective. It shows how to encode information in the form of logical sentences; it shows how to reason with information in this form; and it provides an overview of logic technology and its applications - in mathematics, science, engineering, business, law, and so forth.

Taught by

Michael Genesereth

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about Coursera Coursera

Reviews for Coursera's Introduction to Logic
3.3 Based on 19 reviews

  • 5 stars 32%
  • 4 stars 21%
  • 3 stars 21%
  • 2 star 0%
  • 1 stars 26%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Maicol P
1.0 2 years ago
Maicol is taking this course right now.
This was my first MOOC ever and I hated it. On week 4 the unalignment between material/explenations provided and the exercises became clear as students started sharing links to third party sources in the forums so to be able to complete go ahead to week 5.

According to the forums, several spent hours for exercises that were supposed to take a few minutes. Also, no sort of help from the professor seem to have been given.

This course makes me believe that the quality of courses on coursera isn't that high afterall.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Adelyne C
1.0 4 years ago
by Adelyne is taking this course right now, spending 5 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be very hard.
This course started off very well, I was very drawn in to the first week while basic concepts were being presented and I felt very interested in the field of logic. This motivated me to start extremely early in the subsequent weeks (I usually wait till midweek to start on my online courses but I would start this on Monday evening) but I felt that by Week 4 the course became impossible to understand.

I feel that not enough time is devoted to really explaining how to solve logic problems as the lectures essentially just gloss over the definitions of various logic concepts. I remain…
14 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
1.0 5 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I dropped this class after 2 or 3 weeks despite having a 100% average on the assignments. The lectures were impossible to follow. I found myself reading a logic textbook to understand the material and do the homework. The book was far better than the video. After a few weeks, I decided I could use the textbook alone to learn logic and dropped the class.
9 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 6 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The course is brilliant.

The video lectures are very succinct, compact (which I think is one of the biggest qualities of a course) and interesting and the short lecture exercises are perfect as to make sure you understand the concepts.

The name may not be perfect, as I am not sure that the course really is introductory. By this I mean that complicated issues are taken treated in this course although indeed the beginning is introductory enough and they are extremely well presented.

The tests are excellent, they indeed check perfectly how much you have or have not understood the concepts. The application for proofs is excellent and it's a great way to make sure the students really do understand and are also able to use the concepts as it doesn't allow you to finish the exercises with a wrong answer. (that being said, that doesn't guarantee that you actually do finish the exercises, which I think is perfect!)
3 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
1.0 2 years ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
The content in the course is important to learn, but the introduction of fitch logic it difficult to use. I am someone who has taken courses in formal logic and even I found this difficult. For my purposes, as a philosopher, this is not quite useful to me anyway, as this seems to be more geared toward math majors or those in computer science. I would suggest waiting for University of Melbourne to relaunch their logic courses, which were much more relevant and informative.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Rin T
3.0 6 months ago
Rin is taking this course right now, spending 10 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be hard.
I loved this course. The beginning of it was easy to follow with the help of practice questions. However, as I was finishing week 3, I was lost in the concepts and struggling to remember the signs and relationships between statements... I will spend more time on reviewing and see if this help.

Overall, not an easy class as I expected (was hoping to finish this before June), but I guess I will be fine at the end because I always enjoy challenges. :)

Just saw someone in this review section mentioned the textbook, thank you for bringing this up! I might also take other M…
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
1.0 2 years ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
The interface is not friendly and material is not coherent enough. Almost no video and mostly some dry and limited reading material. I felt I would be better off reading a good book on the subject. The course and Stanford did not meet my expectations
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a year ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
They really improved the course from a few years ago, concepts are much easier to understand in text than in video form. Many examples and some reiteration ensures your learning.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Leandro C
5.0 a year ago
by Leandro is taking this course right now, spending 4 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be hard.
Great content and exercises tool. Herbrand semantics doesn't seem to be that usual in textbooks, especially those for philosophers. Target audience seems to be computer scientists.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Colin K
4.0 3 years ago
by Colin completed this course.
0 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 years ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
0 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Ilya R
3.0 3 years ago
by Ilya completed this course.
0 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Stephane M
3.0 2 years ago
by Stephane completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Matthew P
4.0 2 years ago
Matthew completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Stephanie O
4.0 2 years ago
Stephanie completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Stephane M
3.0 2 years ago
by Stephane completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Pietro C
5.0 2 years ago
by Pietro completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Sardar S
4.0 4 years ago
Sardar completed this course, spending 15 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
logically understanding any human problem is become easy after doing this course. i suggest all my friends to go through this course.
0 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.