To support our site, Class Central may be compensated by some course providers.

Programming for Everybody (Python)

University of Michigan via Coursera

students interested
  • Provider Coursera
  • Subject Programming Languages
  • $ Cost Free Online Course (Audit)
  • Session Finished
  • Language English
  • Certificate Certificate Available
  • Effort 2-4 hours a week
  • Start Date

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

Sign up to Coursera courses for free Learn how

This course is specifically designed to be a first programming course using the popular Python programming language. The pace of the course is designed to lead to mastery of each of the topics in the class. We will use simple data analysis as the programming exercises through the course. Understanding how to process data is valuable for everyone regardless of your career. This course might kindle an interest in more advanced programming courses or courses in web design and development or just provide skills when you are faced with a bunch of data that you need to analyze. You can do the programming assignments for the class using a web browser or using your personal computer. All required software for the course is free. 

Syllabus

Week One: Introduction - Why we program?
Week Two: Variables and Expressions
Week Three: Conditional code
Week Four: Functions
Week Five: Loops and Iteration
Week Six: Strings
Week Seven: Files
Week Eight: Lists
Week Nine: Dictionaries
Week Ten: Tuples
Optional Topic: Regular Expressions


Taught by

Charles Severance

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about Coursera Coursera

Reviews for Coursera's Programming for Everybody (Python)
4.5 Based on 72 reviews

  • 5 stars 75%
  • 4 stars 15%
  • 3 stars 3%
  • 2 star 1%
  • 1 stars 6%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Anonymous
5.0 4 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Incredible course! Dr. Chuck was awesome, and not only did he engage listeners, but he gave us the confidence to keep going even as the programming became more difficult. I now have a solid foundation from which to take other programming courses, and not to mention a kindled passion for the subject. Highly recommend!!
6 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Wolfgang N
5.0 5 years ago
Wolfgang is taking this course right now, spending 8 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
I don't participate in that course, but my wife and I support her, if necessary (I have over 40 years experience in software development, so I can help, but I'm a bad techer for beginners). She is working in offices since more that 30 years, using Word and other office tools, but had never learned how to program during her life. All other announced beginner courses led always to the problem, that a general understanding how a computer works is required. This course introduces the very basic things for an absolute beginner in an understandable way, so she got the feeling, that programming is not a magic thing and starts meanwhile with experiments. Together with the textbook and using an editor and some minor hints from me, she is able to write small programs after the first 3 weeks.

It should be annotated that the course has not the goal to make a real programmer, but to give an understanding (~feeling) what programming is. This goal will be reached for sure
26 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
1.0 3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
To be honest, I thought the course stumbled and fell short. It was far too basic and slow paced. Considering how little is taught, even for a beginner's course in Python, it could hardly be described as college-level material.

The tone was a bit immature at times, and perhaps appropriate for a grade school level classroom--not something for college students or working professionals. Even if the goal were to teach those having absolutely no programming experience, the course could accomplish that while providing more content by doing the following: keep up the pace of the lect…
11 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Lindley W
5.0 4 years ago
by Lindley completed this course, spending 3 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
Absolutely brilliant. If I could give it more than five stars, I would.

As someone who has started programming courses before but found it hard to engage, I found every aspect of this course--the open source textbook, the lectures (and Dr Chuck himself), the assignments, the supportive learning community--encouraging, helpful, clear and fun. I looked forward to each week's reading and work, and now I'm going on to less beginner-friendly courses, the foundation it laid, and the confidence it engendered is incredibly useful.
14 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Sharon S
1.0 5 years ago
Sharon is taking this course right now.
Poor! Overly simplistic. Two line programs, no real learning. More focus on writing an essay about Programming up to 1,000 words. Not a good course at all if you are looking for anything remotely academic. Has a very low level of understanding, and seemed to attract people who couldn't even work their operating system, IDLE working, going on the forum boards comments. There is a point where things lose their relevance and become an insult to your intelligence, this couse is it. Probably the worst course that has existed this far on Coursera, and really gives an idea of what is wrong with some of these courses. You will not believe the stupidity of the people on the forum boards.
20 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Brian J
5.0 4 years ago
Brian completed this course, spending 2 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be very easy.
A very easy introduction to programming for those who want to get started to get a taste of programming but at the same time don't want to get overwhelmed and daunted by difficulties of programming.
10 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
2.0 2 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Ir you gave experience in Code the ONLY thing you need is the book on the first weekend, I started solving the exercises and found out I really didn't need anything else and finished this course in about 5 hours, didn't evento need to watch videos ir reading the slideshow, the book was Allan I needed
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This course teaches the programming basics in Python, perfect for a beginner. If you already know how to program this is not the course for you.
8 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Kim K
1.0 3 years ago
by Kim is taking this course right now.
On the opposite end form the person who found this course an insult to intelligence because it was too easy, I am looking at this course from the perspective of a non-programmer who chose this Python course because it was supposed to be for everybody. I find it very difficult. Examples are way too infrequent. The audio and visual quality are not very good. The Courserea set-up is awkward and slow. I doubt I'll be able to get the next assignment correct, and the "help" I've gotten has cost me hours, and I'm nowhere near done. The lecturer is hard to follow, acoustically as well as syntactically.
10 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Onwumere B
4.0 4 years ago
Onwumere completed this course, spending 4 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
Overall, I would say that Dr Chuck did a pretty nice job in introducing programming to everyone via the Python Programming Language. His explanations were detailed enough and easy to understand. I would recommend this course to anyone looking for an Introductory Course to Programming.
16 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Edmund F
5.0 4 years ago
Edmund completed this course.
Good self-paced course taught in a carefully organized fashion that's designed to present Python for either a first time programmer or a programmer coming from another language. And without the special case Pythonic coolness that may improve performance, but would just cloud a new learner's experience. An example would be features such as comprehensions, which are left for a later class. Dr. Chuck is a tough looking smart guy with a tatoo, I enjoyed his presentations. I would take another one of his classes.
8 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3.0 2 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
There are too many difficulty spikes, I was able to follow it in the beginning, and all in all it does explain a lot, however the course is expecting you to do the impossible towards the end, definitely not for the beginners, the tasks become really abstract and confusing. I'll give it another go but I think I would need to spend months in programming to fully grasp this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Like the preview to the course says: it avoids all but the simplest math. If you are looking for high level programming this is not for you. If you are new to, or intimidated by the prospect of, programming, this is a superb intro and Dr. Chuck does a great job at explaining everything.
4 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 5 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
It does what it says - explains programming from scratch, using easy examples and slowly building it up.

Would recommend it for any newbies!
6 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
One of the best class for beginners in programming.
3 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
1.0 11 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
Do not waste your money. Subscription renews automatically and is a rip-off. Program includes superfluous information just to fill time. Do not take.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Carole P
5.0 2 years ago
by Carole completed this course, spending 3 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
Really great to understand how it works and why you should write things in a certain way, besides learning the language itself. And Dr Chuck is super cool !
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Srinidhi S
5.0 3 years ago
by Srinidhi is taking this course right now.
awesome introductory course in Python!! i really loved the way he taught . I would recommend this course to beginners. Good luck !!
0 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 7 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Microsoft wants developers and programmers to get up to speed with quantum code today, before the actual quantum computers come into stores. The company is building a quantum computer itself, based on a topological qubit that company scientists believe is more stable than fragile qubits prone to processing errors. AWS Training in Bangalore
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Paul J
5.0 2 years ago
by Paul completed this course, spending 2 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
This really is a class for beginner - those with some experience will find the initial sessions slow. The exercises in the later stages are surprisingly lightweight. However overall the course does an excellent job of introducing programming in a pretty practical way, especially for those interested in data analysis.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.