Get started with custom lists to organize and share courses.

Sign up

Class Central is learner-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Project Management: The Basics for Success

University of California, Irvine via Coursera

23 Reviews 14861 students interested
  • Provider Coursera
  • Subject Project Management
  • Cost Free Online Course (Audit)
  • Session Upcoming
  • Language English
  • Certificate Paid Certificate Available
  • Effort 2-4 hours a week
  • Start Date
  • Duration 4 weeks long
  • Learn more about MOOCs

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

Sign up to Coursera courses for free Learn how

This course combines the essential elements of Project Management and Team Leadership into one course. Through class engagement and reflection, you will acquire further understanding of the responsibilities of leadership and become better prepared to apply this knowledge to the project environment.

Upon completing this course, you will be able to:
1. Learn about the role of high performance teams and leadership in project management
2. Learn about the tools and techniques for developing and strengthening high performance teams and team members
3. Learn about the stages in project cycle
4. Apply best practices to develop competencies and skills in planning and controlling projects to ensure successful outcomes
5. Learn how to monitor project activities and assess progress
6. Learn to communicate proficiently to report project status and performance to stakeholders and contribute to organizational knowledge base

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about Coursera Coursera

Reviews for Coursera's Project Management: The Basics for Success
4.5 Based on 23 reviews

  • 5 stars 48%
  • 4 stars 52%
  • 3 star 0%
  • 2 star 0%
  • 1 star 0%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Roberto S
4.0 2 years ago
by Roberto completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Vijayakumar N
5.0 4 years ago
by Vijayakumar completed this course, spending 2 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
Any young executive working for a firm knowingly or unknowingly becomes part of project teams at the most unexpected moments. Many even become project managers by accident without any formal training in the discipline. Managing projects is one of the most challenging activities with risks involved. The probability of failing in project management is high without formal training. 'Project management: The basics for success' I should say, is the stepping stone that helps you get a quick grasp of the discipline. Prof Rob Stone is a great teacher and I really enjoyed his class. Learning this short course gives you the fundamental concepts required to probe deeper into the subject. Course materials and coverage is excellent !
12 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I really enjoyed this course. I felt that the instructor explained project management, the management skill set, as well as the mindset of managing a large project in a clear, concise way. Definitely good for beginners in business, as well as people who are interested in a refresher of PM principles or better planning and control techniques in their work.
5 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Glenia L
5.0 2 years ago
Glenia completed this course, spending 2 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
I have just finished this course and I took it in order to get a grasp on project management since I was a novice in the subject. The course fulfilled its purpose for me. I recommend if you want to get a basic knowledge on Project Management, this is your starting point.

In regards to time spent on it, it was not one of the longest courses, I probably dedicated only a couple hours per week.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Jonathan G
5.0 4 years ago
by Jonathan completed this course, spending 5 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
I already took a course like this. This was dull and repetitive. I would only recommend this course to somebody who doesn't know the basics of project management.
4 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Huang T
4.0 4 years ago
by Huang completed this course, spending 2 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
This is a very basic introduction to project management, good for beginners without any previous knowledge. The quiz are very simple.
5 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Jason C
4.0 3 years ago
by Jason completed this course, spending 2 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
It's a good, solid course. The material is presented well, and is relevant to how to organize projects. I would have liked to have seen a bit more substance in the assignments (only quizzes), but good information is presented nonetheless.
2 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Piotr D
5.0 a year ago
by Piotr completed this course, spending 2 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be very easy.
Good course for gaining insights into project management domain. The last part - which focuses on communication can be applied for not only project management all types of cooperation with different people. Course doesn't require high time investment and still opens your eyes on many non-trivial aspects. At the end leaves you with thirst for more.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Liubov H
5.0 a month ago
by Liubov completed this course, spending 3 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
Great Course for beginners in Project Management.

Gives a good overview of general information as well as an understanding of what elements of PM I should learn further.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Hector R
5.0 3 years ago
by Hector completed this course.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Hector J
4.0 3 years ago
by Hector completed this course.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Renato R
4.0 4 years ago
Renato completed this course, spending 3 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Sarah P
5.0 3 years ago
Sarah completed this course.
0 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Chris C
4.0 3 years ago
Chris completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Sergio S
5.0 4 years ago
by Sergio is taking this course right now.
0 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Ivan K
5.0 3 years ago
by Ivan completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Joana J
4.0 3 years ago
by Joana completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Lucile J
4.0 2 years ago
by Lucile completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Alban H
4.0 2 years ago
by Alban completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Dallas P
5.0 2 years ago
by Dallas completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.