To support our site, Class Central may be compensated by some course providers.

Introduction to Biology - The Secret of Life

Massachusetts Institute of Technology via edX

students interested
  • Provider edX
  • Subject Biology
  • $ Cost Free Online Course
  • Session In progress
  • Language English
  • Certificate $150 Certificate Available
  • Effort 7-14 hours a week
  • Start Date
  • Duration 12 weeks long

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

Read fully to understand the verified-certificate option. Join Professor Eric Lander and the MITx Biology team in a newly restructured introductory biology learning experience. All original 7.00x course materials are available here for exploration and completion, including video and interactive problem sets and exams. We strongly encourage you to work through the activities, towards a goal of learning biology. In this version of the course, we have kept the course content the same while optimizing the course settings for learning: instant feedback after trying problems and all content available at all times. We now offer a more thorough and robust means of certifying edX learners in their mastery of the MITx introductory biology content, through a new MITx 7.00x Introduction to Biology Competency Exam. This exciting option is available ONLY to those who register for the verified-certificate track, and successful completion of this exam is the only assessment that counts toward a certificate. We highly recommend preparing for the Competency Exam certification by using the current course materials and MIT OpenCourseWare problems. The next Competency Exam will be open October 23, 2018 to October 30, 2018.

7.00x is an introductory level biology course hosted by professor Eric Lander, who was one of the leaders of the Human Genome Project. The course content reflects the topics taught in the MIT introductory biology courses and many biology courses across the world. As a learner, you will first focus on the structure and function of macromolecules such as DNA, RNA and proteins. You will discover how changes in the structure of some of these macromolecules alter their functions and what the implications of such changes have on human health. As you continue in the course, you will apply an understanding of heredity and information flow within cells to human health and disease and will learn about molecular biological techniques and their potential to impact our changing world. After you complete this course, you will have a foundation in biology that will allow you to understand the remarkable medical revolution going on today.

MITx 7.00x: Introduction to Biology – The Secret of Life will let you explore the mysteries of biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, recombinant DNA technology and genomics, and rational medicine. We are excited to take this journey with you!

Taught by

Eric S. Lander and Graham Walker

Tags

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about EdX EdX

Reviews for edX's Introduction to Biology - The Secret of Life
4.7 Based on 26 reviews

  • 5 stars 88%
  • 4 star 0%
  • 3 star 4%
  • 2 stars 8%
  • 1 star 0%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Heavenly F
5.0 a year ago
by Heavenly is taking this course right now, spending 5 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
When I first took the course in 2016, I was excited. It was my first MOOC and was easy enough for someone who didn't have a background in biology to begin. Lander explains everything clearly, adds in a few jokes as well, and has lecture notes in case you missed anything. You can take this class despite having no idea what biology is and leave with a great idea. I dropped the class due to time but have restarted it and love it just as much. There's resources for a lot of the topics and makes you want to learn more. If you take proper notes, you can easily get all of the work correct. I'm currently on week 1 and have no problems with the course! Take this course and you will not regret it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Ken S
5.0 4 years ago
by Ken completed this course, spending 6 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
My class was taught by Dr. Eric Lander. If you don't know who that is, look him up on Wikipedia and be prepared to be impressed. It's the equivalent of taking beginning guitar lessons from Eddie Van Halen. As a teacher, Dr. Lander has the gift of making the complicated and technical seem simple and exciting. This was, hands down, my favorite class ever.

The class lists no prerequisites, but you really need at least high school chemistry and biology. Dr. Lander will take it from there. The first part of the course is spent on chemistry that is needed to understand the rest of…
16 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3.0 5 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The lectures are really great, and Eric Lander is knowledgeable and engaging, but there is a disconnect between what it taught and what is tested on. It seems like what is taught is very generalized, but the problem sets and exams are exceedingly detailed and nitty gritty, and much of the time it feels as if youre being tested more on nomenclature than concepts.

I would not recommend this to anyone who doesnt already have a pretty large base of scientific knowledge (both chemistry and biology). Although its classified as a beginner course, requiring no prerequisites, in order to be successful, you need to already know your stuff.

All that said, Lander's commentary on the discovery of things now held to be scientific facts is to die for. Its very informative, and he teaches a useful critical mindset. I dont regret taking the course, even though its seriously stressing me out.
9 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Wandalen W
2.0 a year ago
by Wandalen completed this course, spending 7 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
Unfortunately, this course designed not to teach, but only to earn money.

There is no support or feedback from people behind of the course. Nobody cares if you will get a question or will find an error.

Many problems designed ungainly, lubberly, have mistakes, some problems are too tedious, take to much time not actually teaching something, but ask to copy paste hundreds of times or simply don't work at all because of technical problems.

The exam will be available only for a week. If you make decision to pay them and will try to pass the exam, you should …
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 5 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This class included very informative lectures and tutorials as well as up-to-date software to apply the concepts taught in the course. Not only did the assignments and exams reinforce the concepts I had learned in the lectures, they helped be gain a deeper understanding of what has been taught.

The lectures and the assignments were so well put together they complemented each other in the learning process. The course included a lot of information on recent discoveries in the field of genomics and their applications in rational medicine, relevant to the lives of many today.
3 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Jason G
5.0 4 years ago
Jason completed this course, spending 5 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be hard.
This is THE online course to take. Dr. Lander is not only an accomplished scientist, but also a gifted teacher. Also, the MIT staff does its best to make the most of the online platform and leverages technology for the course to a degree I've never seen anywhere else.

The result is a truly amazing course that raises the bar for MOOCs in general. If you are at all interested in the subject, or are looking for a class to inspire you, take this one!
4 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 5 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This is possibly the best class I have ever taken, in or out of the classroom. Eric Lander, a very accomplished scientist in his field, also was able to take very complex material and make it comprehensible to students of an intro class. This class is nothing like what you would get in an intro biology class in college comprised of memorizing genus, species and phyla, and dissecting animals in lab. It is much more oriented toward the revolution that is now occurring in the field, and challenges one's problem solving and critical thinking capabilities. Great class!
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 5 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I dont agree with my precursor! This Course is just great in every aspect. Eric Lander is a modern Popstar in Biology and his course is a masterpiece. It really encourage you to stay with the course. The problems are just right and you are able to use the theory u just learned in those problem sets via great tools.
5 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 years ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
This is a fantastic class - I don't have any background in chemistry or biology (not even in high school) and I found it challenging but achievable. It definitely requires a lot of work to really get to grips with the material but it's presented in every possible way to help you understand it. Definitely the best course of it's type I've seen.
3 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Martin O
5.0 7 months ago
Martin completed this course, spending 4 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
This is an excellent course for anyone who is curious about life and how it works. It is aimed at first year undergraduates with some knowledge of Biology. But the lecturer Eric Lander is excellent. He explains complex topics in a clear, easy to understand way. As one of the leaders of the Human Genome Project he really knows what he’s talking about! I would strongly recommend this course - one of the best I have done so far.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 5 years ago
Mark completed this course.
I've taken half a dozen MOOCs, and this is the best one by far. In fact, it is one of the best classes I have ever taken, period. Dr. Lander is a natural, charismatic teacher who really knows his stuff, including the latest developments.

While it's an introductory course, it's at MIT and it is not watered down. The quizzes and exams are challenging and require you to work.
2 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 years ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
GREAT GREAT course!

The lectures are very well structured and Dr. Eric Lander is such a good teacher.

He explains all the complexity in the world of Biology in a perfectly and very interesting way. You do get addicted to this course!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Definitely one of the top courses i've taken across disciplines. Challenging, but in a very good way. I would recommend to anyone who has an interest in biology, even if you have done other introductory courses before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Roman I
2.0 a year ago
Roman completed this course, spending 9 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
Some problems were inaccurate. Some didn't work. Also, exam available only short period and take a couple of days. Also, I don't think that course of such quality should cost as much.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Marco F
5.0 4 years ago
Marco completed this course, spending 3 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be hard.
2 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Piotr D
5.0 2 years ago
by Piotr completed this course.
0 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Kamalneet S
5.0 2 years ago
by Kamalneet partially completed this course.
0 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Martin N
5.0 2 years ago
Martin completed this course.
0 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
0 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Tyler D
5.0 2 years ago
Tyler completed this course.
0 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.