Get started with custom lists to organize and share courses.

Sign up

Class Central is learner-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Technical Report Writing for Engineers

The University of Sheffield via FutureLearn

15 Reviews 1144 students interested

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

Learn to communicate effectively through technical report writing

Technical reports are a vital tool for engineers to communicate their ideas. This online course introduces technical report writing and teaches the techniques you need to construct well-written engineering reports.

Each week, we’ll look at a key section of a technical report and the skills needed to write it. You’ll cover areas such as referencing and citations; presenting equations; diagrams and data; and using language and tenses correctly.

We’ll also talk to practising engineers, as well as students and educators who write and mark technical reports, who’ll give their hands-on advice.

This course is designed for both student and professional engineers. It will teach you the technical report writing skills you need to tackle everything from a two-page document to a PhD thesis. As such, it will be applicable for the entirety of your engineering degree or career.

Taught by

Andrew Garrard

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about FutureLearn FutureLearn

Reviews for FutureLearn's Technical Report Writing for Engineers
4.9 Based on 15 reviews

  • 5 stars 93%
  • 4 star 7%
  • 3 star 0%
  • 2 star 0%
  • 1 star 0%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Interesting and educative course. I would recommend this to students who are not sure about how to complete their technical engineering reports.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This was a very interesting and informative course. I often have to compile reports on many different subjects and at times the reports are skimmed over because of moving onto the next subject. A comment by one of the tutors wished this had been taught in schools prior to engaging in university studies? that would have been a subject worth taking in school and like the tutor, forced religious studies was certainly not my strong point and had absolutely no bearing in trying to tackle Young's Modulus.... In an age where there is a lack of home grown Engineers and Construction Professionals in the UK.. this needs to be added to some schools curriculum.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Wonderful course. Well structured and great prepared. Tests and quizzes make one really think and learn. The whole course reminds the phrase of one QA architect "Do as little testing as possible and no less". I find it equally applicable to the course materials in terms of all the information provided was absolutely useful.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This course gives excellent tips, concise about a knowledge as basic as necessary, such as knowing how to make a technical engineering report. It gives a general structure of the same, many tips and tools to take into consideration when making a good report. I enjoy the course. thank you!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
this course has been a useful course of learning and has provided a reference that i can always return and refer to when writing any form of future report, also i have obtained certification as proof of understanding
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Mohammed K
5.0 3 months ago
Mohammed completed this course.
The course is very useful and to the point. It lays emphasis on all the critical issues needed for a writing a technical report. It is practical, useful and very concise. Thanks for offering such a superb course!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 3 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This course is a great approach for engineers and other technical people who want to make a great result of their work and convey their work done as they want and professionally.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
It is an excellent course, well organized and so interesting.

The examples are so clear, l wish you could add more quizzes and spotting mistakes examples.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I wish a course such as this one existed when I was a student. It is very practical and I would recommend for all undergraduates not just engineering students.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Moustapha C
5.0 3 months ago
Moustapha completed this course, spending 4 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
This course has equipped me with useful and important information on technical report writing. I have acquired new knowledge and learned new vocabulary.

Thank you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Quite useful for an engineer who lacks in technical report writing skill. The course is well organized and provides all necessary information;
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This is a very good course! I improved my writing so much even my mentor commented on my improvement. I'm so happy I found this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a week ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
It is really so good and a well-constructed course that helps the learner to edit his style and thinking about technical reports.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This course was very well structured. I have learnt a lot. Recommend this course to all who wants to write good reports.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
its should be take this course its very important for every one special engineering to write perfect report for any jobs
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.