Get started with custom lists to organize and share courses.

Sign up

Class Central is learner-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Startup School

Y Combinator via Independent

39 Reviews 29300 students interested

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

We believe the barrier to entry for people to start a startup is still too high. We want to make it easier for people to start a company, regardless of who or where you are, so we're starting by sharing what we've learned, through Startup School.

Startup School is a free 10-week massively open online course (MOOC). 100 companies who complete the course will also receive $10K.

Got a startup? Sign up for Startup School.

For founders actively pursuing your own startup, we welcome you to participate in the course. You will have additional access to active founder-advisors who can help give you feedback on your company.

Taught by

Geoff Ralston

Class Central Charts

Reviews for Startup School
4.9 Based on 39 reviews

  • 5 stars 92%
  • 4 stars 8%
  • 3 star 0%
  • 2 star 0%
  • 1 star 0%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
George C
4.0 a year ago
by George is taking this course right now, spending 2 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
Just started but helpful so far. Maybe a little too much info and some modules overlap. Waiting for the 2018 version.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Lubomir H
5.0 4 months ago
Lubomir completed this course, spending 10 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
I'm currently a founder of a high-tech consumer hardware startup.

As such, in the past few years, I've been actively involved in various learning experiences related to the topics of entrepreneurship and launching own venture.

In a nutshell, here's what I think are the biggest pros of the YC Startup School (SUS) program:

1. Weekly activities that help participants to stay motivated and active throughout the entire course: being assigned to provide weekly updates on a pre-defined metric as well as being responsible for joining the weekly group office meeti…
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Bhawnavk B
5.0 4 months ago
by Bhawnavk is taking this course right now, spending 10 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
Start Up School : (The MOOC version)

This is the best place to

A) learn If you are cut to be an entrepreneur

B) question whether your product fits with what market wants

C) get inspired to do more faster

D) get funded!

Method

The course runs ten weeks touching on aspects of funding, VC, product management, startup founding dilemmas and examples of proven strategies through conversations with successful startup founders and lecture pedagogy.

The course delivery is through lectures or if you a…
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 4 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
There are five good aspects of this course: the content, the deals, access to mentors, the chance to win a bulk payment, and the on-road to larger venture capital through entry to the YCombinator accelerator.

The content is available anyway (search Youtube for YCombinator). The deals are good (USD$1000s of value in hosting deals alone, also banking and company registration in various jurisdictions, etc.) and worth the time alone. Access to mentors is limited: the majority of the interaction occurs through weekly one hour phone calls which whilst having some value are a hideously t…
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Dhawal S
5.0 7 months ago
by Dhawal completed this course and found the course difficulty to be hard.
I finished the first iteration of Startup School last year in mid-2017. The lectures were posted online and were available publically, but that wasn't the most important part of the program. Once you get accepted, you will be assigned a mentor who is a YC founder. Then these mentors will hold weekly (or maybe every two weeks) group sessions where you basically can ask them burning business questions and/or provide the progress you made. I found this helpful to focus myself.

You also get to hear your updates from group partners and that can be a great learning experience. The companies in the program were from different stages from barely an idea to well-established businesses.

Definitely would recommend anyone who is running a business to check out the program.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 4 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
It's a great course, I will definitely be applying again.

Due to an email error, they accidentally invited over 15,000 people when they only intended ~3k. That mistake unfortunately decreased the quality of the community because the forum was inundated with low quality posts, so there was never really a feeling of community IMO.

The group sessions were amazing, my advisor was amazing - that part gets 5 starts from me.

The video lectures were really useful, but the first 5 weeks were a lot more useful for me than the second half.

My least favorite part of the course was the choice of video conference software - it was one of the worst I've ever used in terms of UX, but the discussions were so useful that it didn't really matter.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I have taken many MOOCs to improve my skills, but this is the first MOOC I've taken to improve my life. In particular, this course got my company to private beta.

I had been working on my startup's product for a while with no specific launch date in sight. SUS changed that through social pressure. Every week there was a "group office hours" where everyone in a group has to talk about his accomplishments and what issues are looming. Additionally, there was a weekly written "status update".

With the two weekly checkins, I ran much faster than I had before; I tried to wr…
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Alexander G
5.0 2 years ago
by Alexander is taking this course right now.
YC provides access to some great deals from Clerky, Stripe Atlas, Microsoft and Google to all the Startup School companies. Our https://botmakers.net/ team is in group 20. It’s just the beginning of the course but it looks promising.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
I went through 3 accelerators in my country and I can say that the value of the content presented by Startup School surpassed the others. I wonder how rich the Y Comb acceleration should be. I'm enjoying it a lot. Congratulations!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Leonardo B
5.0 a year ago
by Leonardo completed this course and found the course difficulty to be easy.
Great start for founders who don't have a business background or are looking to get some insight about the startup ecosystem.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
For us with only a basic idea and no product in the beginning, it was the perfect fit to learn and profit from the experience of successful founders. We also liked the way YC works with their own startups and the hands-on approach they take. The video/courses were very helpful and offered a real value for a course that is free! Weekly office hours within your group and weekly KPI updates for Startupschool forced us to constantly work on the product to show progress on a weekly base and also helps because you suddenly feel accountable for your progress/KPIs. Although Startupschool ends after 10 weeks we will continue our office meetings within our group, because we love the interaction and the feedback from the group members and it really helps with the product/company you are building.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Mike C
5.0 4 months ago
Mike completed this course, spending 40 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be hard.
This is not a course so much as a condensed apprenticeship. I was lucky enough to be assigned a group with an experienced YC alumni, Mark, who proved to be a great listener and provided very thoughtful and helpful advice.

If you're after a qualification, this is probably not for you. Completion of the course is automatic as long as you provide regular feedback on your company's progress. So the qualification on its own is not necessarily valuable: I don't think anyone else assesses whether you should be granted completion.

If you're after advice for getting your startup up and running, this is definitely for you. The lectures/videos on their own are awesome, and the advice and accountability you'll get with the group office hours is invaluable.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Felipe N
5.0 4 months ago
Felipe is taking this course right now, spending 8 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
So, honestly, I believe every startup founder, before even think in starting a startup, should read and study Paul Graham and Y Combinator stuff. Startup School is part of it. In my opinion, Startup School is a tremendous opportunity to gain access to the top-tier startup material and advice from the best minds in the world. Individuals that have done-that-before and can share with you priceless advice that can definitely save your company's life and help you put your brain to work and ask the right questions before making decisions.

Startup School, for me, is like Startup 101. Thank you, folks.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Danil K
5.0 4 months ago
by Danil completed this course.
One of the most helpful courses on startups online. You get a lot of YC wisdom and opportunities at no cost. Everyone is super helpful and friendly. One of the very important aspects is peer pressure. It definitely accelerated the launch of my product and helped move faster. I cannot recommend this more!

P.S. YC is one of the very few early stage startup institutions who actually know what they are doing.

P.P.S. Huge shout out to Geoff, Adora, all the founders who lead office hours, amazing speakers, and everyone else involved for making this happen!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
I love startup school, it cured my pain points at the right time. Best startup contents ever.

To make weekly progress it made me do things faster which is extremely great for my company.

The forum was so useful, whenever I was curious I would post a question which had 3-8 smart people replying to my question.

Group office hours was amazing, you share your weekly updates and get feedback from your group mates.

Overall this has been my best career experience.

Thank you startup school and the team for giving us this valuable experience and knowledge.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Sharp, simple, truth telling, startup advice on steroids, ethics & growth. Be good people.

TLDR:

Make something people want

How?

1) talk to users

2) build product

3) know your numbers

4) have a intensely focused but healthy life (sleep enough, exercise, eat healthy, repeat: cut out all the fluff and distractions)

Quantum of utility: launch as soon as you can make someone happy because you provide him/her with a way do do something s/he couldn't do without your (kinda crappy) product. Improve relevant relentlessly from there, and get lucky!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The course is very useful and interesting both for those who want to start their own business, or just for anyone who wants to improve their approach to work and daily challenges.

The advices and experiences of the various instructors and guests are always full of useful information, as well as the materials distributed during the course.

Everything is explained and told in a simple and understandable language, so even those who are not particularly familiar with technicalities can follow the lessons without problems.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Narayan M
5.0 4 months ago
Narayan is taking this course right now, spending 5 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
Being a part of YC's SUS was a learning experience with amazing talks/ videos from stalwarts. While we were earlier planning to launch November 20th, continuous encouragement from SUS enabled us to work extra hard and we re-aligned ourselves to launch on October 4th .

I would recommend this to everyone in the startups whatever their current stage is. Might also do it again next year.

The experience was truly awesome!

Narayan Mallapur ~ Moderator Group659 SUS
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Taking YC Startup School was just amazing, it's a great program, the experience of YC team and founders really leveled up all startups in Startup School. Each lecture presented key points and examples in each area to build a Startup. Office hours and advisors really helped us each week with every aspect and issues that startups were dealing with. The interaction with other startups in office hours give us advise, support and alternatives to solve problems.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
- The lessons are very useful, especially if you're not in the Silicon Valley, have not worked in a start-up, do not have a mentor, etc.

- The office hours for the groups are super great. You learn and get help from other founders and vice versa. You can also learn what's applicable locally (because the groups are based on time zones, and in our case more than half of the group members are from the same country.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.