Get started with custom lists to organize and share courses.

Sign up

To support our site, Class Central may be compensated by some course providers.

Literature of the English Country House

The University of Sheffield via FutureLearn

students interested

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

Trace the history and context of country house literature

Investigate and discuss the role and representation of the English country house in literature, and learn how to build your own authoritative interpretation of these texts.

For over 450 years, country houses have attracted the attention of celebrated writers like Jane Austen and Charles Dickens. We’ll trace this history with experts from the University of Sheffield’s School of English who will share with us the approaches that they take in their own research.

This course is suitable for anyone who enjoys reading and discussing literary texts in English. It may also help those who are preparing for further study in English Literature, as it gives a good foundation in analysing texts. If you are already at degree level in English or another subject, this course could be a good supplement to your studies. Ultimately though, this course is suitable for anyone who loves country houses and great literature.

Taught by

Jim Fitzmaurice

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about FutureLearn FutureLearn

Reviews for FutureLearn's Literature of the English Country House
4.5 Based on 20 reviews

  • 5 stars 65%
  • 4 stars 25%
  • 3 star 5%
  • 2 star 5%
  • 1 star 0%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Dava C
5.0 a month ago
Dava completed this course.
I enjoyed the variety in presentations of materials and lectures. The information was thorough with the additional reading complimentary to the course materials. The presenters were interesting and knowledgeable and added greatly to scope and enjoyment of an online class.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Thania
5.0 a month ago
Thania completed this course.
Interesting,one can learn many new things about Literature and the country house,fantastic mentoring.

The country house travel through centuries gives you the opportunity to see how it evolved,flourished and declined in time and how it is still present in films,TV series,books etc.

The course has to do with the country house but has also got many interesting aspects-social,historical,literary.There's poetry and there's Shakespeare;there's the press of the time and there's politeness and society.There is the coffee house and there is Romanticism.I think that anyone interested in literature can find at least one aspect they'd like to study and learn more about.

The course gives you an openness you can apply to reading any literary genre.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Katarzyna K
5.0 4 years ago
Katarzyna completed this course, spending 5 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
The course was very interesting and engaging, I learnt quite a lot on it and it motivated me to read literature which I have not tried before. The course uses the technique of close reading - short fragments of literary works are close-read (analysed); you do not have to read them in their entirety, but it definitely helps. I enjoyed the lectures which analyse the excerpts in detail and provide new ways of understanding them.
4 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Many thanks to the University of Sheffield’s School of English for a most enjoyable e-course. I learned a lot. I very much liked the enthusiasm of the various presenters which is very engaging. I also appreciated interacting with my fellow learners. I will never look at a country house anymore as just a pile of bricks and stones (never did that anyway). Now I know it stands for much more than just the home of an aristocratic family and their servants and of 'nouveau riche' Americans (I mean that ironically) and a ghost or two. Plus of course of tragic heroines. This course is a much a history of English literature as it is of the English country house. Many thanks again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 weeks ago
Anonymous completed this course.
An informative and interesting course covering a wide range of literary styles and authors. Not only are well known authors studied,but you are also exposed to interesting lesser known figures,who deserve more attention. At times it seems like you have strayed from the topic (such is the depth and variety of ideas discussed ),but everything is cleverly tied in together,and is neatly drawn back into relevance. Much enjoyment to be had,and I was sad to end the course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
'Literature of the English Country House' was an immensely enjoyable course. The quality of the teaching and resources provided as well as the exercises and discussion were very good. I learned more a lot more about pieces of literature I was already familiar with and got a great introduction to pieces I had not studied or read previously.

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who enjoys literature at all.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 2 weeks ago
Anonymous completed this course.
In this course many different aspects of country house literature are explained. And in addition you learn to read in a way that the sublayers of the texts become visible. You learn to read closer, with more attention to what the writer ment and implied.

The mentor is very active in the comments! So that helps a lot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Brian B
5.0 2 weeks ago
Brian completed this course.
This was a well written and spoken course from which I learned a lot about literature and the country house. Interaction was afforded with other students from which I supplemented my learning or questioned it. Students studying English Literature generally could fnd this an interesting extra to their course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
A good beginners guide to English literature. Covers a lot of different styles and times but ties all together well. Also a good introduction to studying literature in general. I have a much better understanding of close reading now. Attractive videos and clear articles. A great course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
A brilliant course, very informative. I would like to commend our mentor Val who was very proactive right the way through the course, offering support and encouragement. If you are interested in Literature, I would highly recommend this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 weeks ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I've read along of literature over the years and have been given new insights because of the course content. I look forward to rereading my favourite novels through new eyes!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Jessica F
5.0 2 weeks ago
Jessica completed this course.
I learned so much and enjoyed this course immensely. I hope you keep developing more classes that are similar. This is a use of technology that should be encouraged and provided to everyone. Thank you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I enjoyed following the course. It was very interesting. A great selection of examples and novels of that time. Interesting reviews and discussions.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Dominique D
2.0 3 years ago
Dominique completed this course.
2 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Aana A
4.0 4 years ago
Aana completed this course, spending 2 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Tiziana A
5.0 2 years ago
by Tiziana completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Kathryn P
4.0 2 years ago
by Kathryn completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Viviana H
4.0 3 years ago
by Viviana completed this course.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Jo B
3.0 3 years ago
Jo completed this course.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Soraya R
4.0 4 years ago
by Soraya completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.